UP we go

What can I say – the weekend’s going to be fun, exciting, and terribly tiring and stressful at the same time.

At 4am tomorrow morning, I will wake up, haul my backpack stuffed with winter clothes, tent, sleeping bag aaaand bottles of glogg and maple syrup liquor, and pick my other passengers up. Then we will begin the 7 hours drive to UP, or Upper Peninsula Michigan, for the Ice Festival. In between, I will also have to cram in as much studying as possible, which positively puts a damper on the whole situation. But it’s a once a year event that I might not possibly recreate next year when these climbing buddies have scattered to the winds, soooo, no choice but to re-attempt the feat I tried in Argentina last year – study in between all the fun.

To be honest, I don’t really know what our itinerary is going to be. Besides offering the use of my gear and car, I haven’t planned the trip at all – Pauline did all the grunt work. All I do know is, Sunday morning at 9am will see us hanging precariously over the iced over waterfall, trying vainly to strike a pose for poterity (and possible posters for our walls) while also trying to not fall. And then it’ll be another mad drive back, in time for me to go to bed and wake up refreshed to face another long week at work.

So laters, and see you next week.

3 thoughts on “UP we go

  1. yo, i got up at 330am no problem! and the weekend was just a BLAST. OMG, I am so in love with ice climbing! Need to sleep now, but I’ll post some pictures as soon as I can. Already plotting my next ice climb trip…. aaaaaaaaaaaaaah

Leave a Reply

