Cosi

I was actually on the road to recovery… but the blasted Chicago winter retarded that. The chilly air tickles my throat a little too much. I still feel bad for the opera folks (caught the final opera of the season, Cosi Fan Tutti – was excellent btw) who sat in front and beside me. I was popping cough drops like nobody’s business but still had to choke back on my coughs every now and then throughout the show. It was bad enough on the plane; in the theatre, I felt like I was profaning the space. And it’s so difficult you know, to try time it right, in between the arias, when the audience is clapping. And it’s even more difficult to get in two precise hacks, hock the phlegm out before the orchestra starts again.

Ahh.

8 thoughts on “Cosi

  1. Yup, the show was great despite all of the hacking coming from next to me πŸ™‚ Now Peishan, please listen to me and take some time off to finally get rid of the cold! You’ve been sick for too long. I know I sound like a broken record here but I harass you because I care…

  2. hey, u’ve realli been sick for a tad too long.. when’s the earnings period ending? could u jus call in sick for a day? rest, get well and u can work betta!! take care!! or will have to ask kerk to bring cough syrup for u.. lol

  3. i am resting! i think i’ve managed 7 hours sleep instead of the usual 5 hours! the weather’s warming up tomorrow and for the rest of the week though, so i should be ok. πŸ™‚

  4. It’s not enough? Haha, well how many hours do you get??? I bet you scrimp on sleep to spend more time in the lab too! Unless I basically just go home after work (usually at about 5pm) and go to bed by 1030pm, there’s no way I can get in more than 5 hours of sleep! And that’s hard to do, since I only get home after 10pm on most days…

  5. You wake up at 3.30 am every morning? That’s nuts!

    I get at least 7 hours of sleep, but that’s because I usually go into the lab/hospital at 8.45 am because I live 5 minutes away, so I empathise with your plight. The nice thing about lab work is the flexible timing.

    How much time do you spend on the commute, and surely there’s a better alternative? I personally hate wasting time commuting.

    P.S. Thanks for the birthday wishes, and don’t feel bad!

  6. no, i said, “unless i go to bed by 1030pm” – i usually sleep at 1230am, and i wake up at 530am… so five hours. πŸ˜€

    well i will have to increase my commuting time to 40 min door to door i think… might be a little shorter. i’ve enjoyed really short commuting times for the past 6 years (at most a 25 min walk), but compared to the 1.5 hour commute from DHS, this shouldn’t be all that bad. besides, if i’m spending a lot of time up north now anyway, it won’t make that much of a difference.

Leave a Reply

