A mini frostnip

A touch of frost bite?

Well now, I don’t really think I have frost bite, or even frost nip. A quick check online suggests that I might have trench foot/immersion foot though my feet were quite dry the whole time. Cold, but dry. Two days after I went ice climbing in Minnesota in -10 degree farenheit conditions, my feet are still feeling numb and tingly. Not a good sign eh?

So last Friday, Chuck, Bruce, Jeff and I made the 7.5 hour trek to Sandstone, Minnesota, for some ice climbing. I’d wanted to camp out, but thankfully Jeff vetoed my idea and booked us a room at the nearby Travelodge instead. Temperatures were much, much lower than I expected at -10 degrees. Eep.

Nonetheless, Sandstone was fun, and I think both Bruce and Jeff (both ice virgins) enjoyed themselves. As a plus, I got to introduce the boys to Kami, who is one of the coolest people around – she entertained us with crazy stories of winter diving, skating upside down under water across the ice, and was sweet enough to procure us goody-bags from the evening’s slideshow when the boys voted to go to Mall of America instead.

sandstone-ice-climbing-2007-019.JPG

Man made waterfalls – Kami told us there were fewer ice falls to climb this year because one of the organizers moved to Florida

sandstone-ice-climbing-2007-009.JPG

Chuck and I in the foreground, watching Bruce’s inaugural attempt on the ice

sandstone-ice-climbing-2007-028.JPG

Me, showing off the ice picks while Jeff climbs in the background

sandstone-ice-climbing-2007-033.JPG

Chuck on the ice

sandstone-ice-climbing-2007-051.JPG

Some random dude attempting rock and ice climbing, the ultimate form of climbing

Some literature I had to look up regarding frost bite vs. frost nip and immersion foot

Leave a Reply

