O mio babbino caro

O mio babbino caro,
mi piace è bello, bello;
vo’andare in Porta Rossa
a comperar l’anello!
Sì, sì, ci voglio andare!
e se l’amassi indarno,
andrei sul Ponte Vecchio,
ma per buttarmi in Arno!
Mi struggo e mi tormento!
O Dio, vorrei morir!
Babbo, pietà, pietà!
My dear father
I like him, he’s beautiful, beautiful;
I want to go to Porta Rossa
and buy the ring!
Yes, yes, I want to go!
And if my love is in vain,
I would go upon Ponte Vecchio (the old Bridge in Florence),
only to jump in the Arno (the river in Florence)
I long for him and torment myself
O God, I’d like to die!
Father, have pity, have pity!

The one act opera, Gianni Schicchi, by Puccini. I have the same aria sung by three different singers, but how can anyone not fall in love with Renée Fleming’s voice; she’s so incredibly moving. I now understand why Ann Ptatchett used her as an inspiration for her mesmerizing novel Bel Canto.

And since I’m on a roll here, I just had to show Anna Netrebko’s La Traviata Libiamo Ne’lieti Calici aria. So hot!

Leave a Reply

