The Cold

I don’t much mind the sniffling, but what really annoys me is that I have lost the ability to smell. I’ve had this blasted cold for over a week now, and now I’m just at the tail end, which is a lot of coughing. No biggie, but it’s eating is no longer fun. The fishball noodles I devour hungrily is not enjoyed as much because I cannot get the whiff of vinegar.

It’s even worse with the wine of course. Last Saturday, I headed over to the Wine Gallery for a tasting of French and German wines, but it wasn’t much of an experience when all I could assess of the wines was whether it had a lot of tannins or was smooth. It’s only now that I appreciate how important the sense of smell is. šŸ™‚

My sight is still affected also, by the surgery. Images are still somewhat blurry, and sometimes smoky. I see halos at night, which I guess is kind of normal for the first few months. It’s annoying though, that my eyes are easily tired and feel dry all the time. But I’m looking ahead, to when I am completely healed and can fully enjoy the life of someone without glasses.

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to wearing my non-prescription glasses. šŸ™‚

One thought on “The Cold

Leave a Reply

