Fat Fingers

OMG.

So I laughed at how some trader might have possibly (well it didn’t as it panned out, but there were rumors) have sent the stock markets spiraling last Thursday as a result of a fat fingered trade – hitting the “B” button for “billions” instead of “M” for millions. Tsk tsk, I went, as I logged into my online brokerage account to place my own trade.

This morning, as I logged in online to sell those orders, I stared in amazement and bemusement at the screen. Why was there an extra zero at the end of the number of trades I had placed??!?!?!?!?!!?!?!

Thankfully, the story has a happy ending. But OMFG.

Leave a Reply

