Mucho Excited

Memorial Day weekend is still two months away, but I’m counting down already. I’ve booked us on a multi-day canoeing (only 3 days, but I wish I had more time) expedition in Boundary Waters in Minnesota!!! πŸ˜€

Ever since I watched The River Runs through It, I’ve wanted to go on a long canoeing/camping trip, and I’m so thrilled that I finally sat down last Sunday and booked it. It was quite an impulsive decision really. I was moping around the apartment, when suddenly I looked over at Jeff and asked, “Want to go canoeing in Boundary Waters?” Once he nodded, I was immediately online, and within minutes, had booked us the permit and reservations.

And today, I stopped by REI and loaded up on dehydrated food, bug spray, a hydration pack, gas cannisters, and a lamp. πŸ˜€ I know I did go camping in New Zealand, but even though the scenery was gorgeous and we’d feasted on the freshest mussels and clams dug out from the seabed, I didn’t feel we were really out in the wilderness. From our campsite in Davies Bay, we could see the twinkling lights of the rows of seaside cabins across the Marlborough Straits. This canoeing trip though, promises to be a real adventure: we’d have to portage, to fend off bears, float down lonely rivers in search of moose…

At the checkout at REI, I struck up a conversation with the cashier, and she regaled me of her multiple trips to the Boundary Waters and Quetico (across the Canadian border). Some nights, she said, when the moon is bright and there is nary a breeze in the sky, you can see the mirrored reflection of the trees on the water. And on other moonless nights, the sky is littered with millions and millions of stars, and one can see the Aurora Borealis dancing overhead.

O.M.G.!

Leave a Reply

