Southern Rhone Tasting

20130311-193116.jpg

L&M hosted a blind southern Rhone tasting at our place this weekend. Seven of us, 6 bottles of wine (although we broke out another one and a half bottles by the end of the night, and bourbon and scotch – not a great idea for a Sunday evening).

I’d wrapped the bottles; Jeff labeled them and we set to tasting and guessing, using tasting notes that L passed out. It was hard! Initially, you could easily tell the differences between the wines, but the harder we tried, the more homogenous most of the wines seemed. Haha, in the end, Jeff and I won, with 3 correct guesses each out of 6. At least I’d correctly identified the cheapest bottle, the most expensive, and the lone Washington wine. πŸ™‚

Chateau St Cosme – Chateauneuf du Pape 2009 ($50)
WS95. This was still young – smooth but the tannins were strong, and could stand to be aged for longer. I could see why this was given the high rating, but truth be told, I preferred something softer and mellower and cheaper. πŸ™‚

Perrin – “Vinsobres les Cornuds” Cotes du Rhone Villages 2010 ($19)

Rotie Cellars – Southern Rhone Blend 2008 ($28)
Everyone’s favorite for the evening… Smooth tannins, lush red fruit that made it the most drinkable.

Domaine La Bouissiere – Gigondas 2009 ($28)
91-92 International Wine Cellar. Lavender notes. With duck, it noticeably softened and became much fuller, sweeter. Delicious with food!

Chateau Fortis – Chateauneuf du Pape 2010 ($26)
WS93. I liked the earthy notes. It also sweetened up noticeably with food. Definitely worth the money.

“Cuvee des Terrasses” Cotes du Ventoux 2011 ($12)
I did not like this wine at all; I kept smelling an overpowering detergent smell. I’m not sure if it was my pinot glass, since only Y’s and mine had that strong detergent smell. Everyone else used a standard shaped glass. But I never use detergent to rinse my wine glasses.

Leave a Reply

