This is it, again

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/957/6094992/files/2014/12/img_3470.jpg
Before

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/957/6094992/files/2014/12/img_3513.jpg
After

After a 5.5 hour marathon that was delayed yesterday, our stuff has been moved. Our place is empty again, almost as it was 4 and a half years ago, when it was a promising, empty canvas ready to be filled.

Everyone asks: are you sad? Are you excited?

Honestly, at this point, even at this juncture, it hasn’t really sunk in yet.

I’m a little perplexed by my shrugs by way of answer. Am I that perfectly caught in the middle of feeling stressed out and excited about the change that I’m just indifferent? Perhaps I guess. Or perhaps, I’m thinking too much about being emotional about the move, that I’ve intellectualized it.

Discounting my 1.5 years back in Singapore, Chicago has been home since 2001. I’ve grown up here: found work, marriage, built a home. It was an altogether sadder experience the first time I left Chicago, but this time around, we will be making the move together, and we are both ready, been ready for a change, for new adventures.

So goodbye Chicago, and dear friends, for now. But we will be back. Haha after all, our wines are in storage here!

2 thoughts on “This is it, again

  1. All the best for your move and new adventures, TPS and J! I’m so glad to have visited you earlier this year in Chicago. Again, thanks for putting me up at your place and showing me around. I’m sure Down Under will be a blast, and I hope to be able to visit you guys again one day. Wishing you a fantastic 2015! 🙂

Leave a Reply

