The enchantment of sunrises

I’m not naturally an early riser, so it always surprises me when I manage to drag myself out of bed, just how many people are out and about getting their exercise in before the sun rises. But it makes me smile too, always, with the feeling that we are somehow sharing a special moment together, watching the sky turn a beautiful kaleidoscope of colors, and the rest of the city coming to life.

This past Monday and Tuesday, I took advantage of the good spell in weather to catch a couple of sunrises. On Monday, I took the train over to Milsons Point to capture dawn over the iconic Sydney Harbor Bridge and Opera House. I’ve seen classic images shot from this vantage, and wanted a photo of my own.

Sydney Feb 16 Sunrise over Habor Bridge (1 of 4)

Sydney Feb 16 Sunrise over Habor Bridge (2 of 4)

Sydney Feb 16 Sunrise over Habor Bridge (3 of 4)

Sydney Feb 16 Sunrise over Habor Bridge (4 of 4)

Tuesday, I drove over to Balmoral Beach to watch the sun rise in between the gap between Manly and Watsons Bay. Jeff had brought my over to Middle Head for a picnic on Saturday (all fine and dandy until a daring kookaburra swooped in from the branches overhead to take off with Jeff’s sandwich!), and I wanted to explore the area in a different light.

February 17 2015 Sunrise at Balmoral Beach-11

February 17 2015 Sunrise at Balmoral Beach-37

Leave a Reply

