Kick-starting my 2017 goal

One of my goals for the upcoming year is to do my first ocean swim in Australia, from Manly to Shelly Beach and back.

To be honest, the distance isn’t really a problem. I just have this irrational fear of swimming in the ocean. And it’s completely irrational, given that I had a blast swimming in Croatia, and generally enjoy snorkeling and love scuba diving. I even look forward to seeing sharks underwater. 

It feels different somehow though, when the focus isn’t on looking out for marine life but just covering ground. I’m afraid that if I’m not paying attention, something sinister can come out from the depths, be it sharks or blue bottles. Then there’s the currents and riptides to contend with. And waves. Hahah.

Oh well baby steps. So, kicking off pool training for the moment, to get the confidence that I can cover the distance.

And although I haven’t really swum in forever, I managed a decent 2.5k swim today, after I clocked off work for the last day this year. Woot! Gotta focus on ramping up speed next too. 

2 thoughts on “Kick-starting my 2017 goal

Leave a Reply

